“Paço da Bemposta” Chapel
Located in the Freguesia da Pena, the Capela do Paço da Bemposta was built in the 18th century on Paço da Rainha, where lived D. Catarina de Bragança, daughter of D. João IV and widow of King Charles II of England. D. Catarina chapel dedicated to Nossa Senhora da Conceição. After his death became the property of the Casa do Infantado and suffering some interventions. It was destroyed in the 1755 earthquake, but was rebuilt from scratch by the Baroque architect Manuel Caetano de Sousa.
Today it is owned by the Army and is the premises of the Military Academy of the Campo Mártires da Pátria (Campo Santana). In 2002 was designated a National Monument.
Exterior and interior
The interior has a luxurious filling with artistic paintings of Pedro Alexandrino, in the vaulted ceiling of the nave and the chancel, organ and polychrome mosaic floor. Has predominantly baroque and rococo and neoclassical manifestation.
The area where the city is situated is of great interest. The Garden of Torel is very close and it is irresistible and the Miradouro do Torel offers a unique view of the city.